Haryana Government Reiterates State’s Commitment to Give 50% Representation to Women in PRI Polls

The Haryana government has decided to give 50% representation to women in the upcoming panchayati raj institutions (PRI) elections, Governor Bandaru Dattatraya told the state assembly on Wednesday, reiterating the government’s commitment of the state to provide a safe environment for women and to empower them financially. and socially.

The governor reiterated the resolution of the BJP-JJP coalition government led by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar to give 50% representation to women in the PRI polls (gram panchayats, panchayat smitis and zila parishads) is gaining prominence as panchayat elections are already scheduled and pending at the pending cases in the High Court of Punjab and Haryana.

The terms of the in-state panchayats had ended on February 23, 2021. At first, the polls had been postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic and protests by farmers.

Now, the issue regarding the holding of panchayat polls in the state is pending in the High Court where a bunch of petitions have been filed challenging some amendments to the PRIs Act by the state government.

In his maiden speech before the 90-member House at the opening session of the third budget session of the Haryana Vidhan Sabha, Dattatraya said the state government had taken a series of important decisions to strengthen the PRI giving them more responsibility.

“After handing over the reins of the panchayats to educated people, the government decided to give 50% representation to women in the PRI and 8% representation to the backward classes,” Dattatraya said in his Hindi speech which lasted 28 minutes.

Praising the state government for boosting respect for PRI officials by granting them a pension, the governor said voters had also been given the “right to recall” the sarpanch to introduce accountability.

According to the governor, the state government has set a goal to increase the number of women in the police force to more than 15% to empower them and enhance women’s safety. He said that in 2014, women’s participation in the police was around 5.5%, which is close to 9% currently.

Haryana Government Reiterates State’s Commitment to Give 50% Representation to Women in PRI Polls

Nuh Government University

The governor has declared that a multidisciplinary government university will be established in Nuh (Mewat). He said the state government will ensure that all eligible universities and colleges are assessed by the NAAC by 2023. The National Assessment and Accreditation Board is an independent institution of the University Grants Commission (UGC).

He said free transportation will be provided to all female students in government colleges and polytechnic institutions at the earliest.

“Historical Milestones”

The Governor spoke about the steps the State and the Center have taken to commemorate ‘Amrit Mahotsav’. He applauded the Center for commemorating Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose’s birthday as “Parakram Diwas”. He called the Center’s decision to observe Dec. 26 “Veer Baal Diwas” to mark the martyrdom of Sahibzada Zorawar Singh and Sahibzada Fateh Singh as a historic gesture.

“We are proud of the participation of many Haryanvis in Netaji’s Azad Hind Fauj,” Dattatraya said, seeking cooperation from House members for what he called a “balanced and wise development” of the state. .

The governor said the state government has tried to rise above regionalism and nepotism to ensure consistent and equitable development.

No mask at home

The House was packed as the majority of MPs from the 90-member House were present. But not a single lawmaker or minister wore a mask. In the officers’ gallery, a few senior officers wore masks while in the visitors’ gallery adjoining the President, “no mask” was the norm.

It was for the first time after the start of the pandemic in March 2020 that the media were allowed to cover the proceedings of the House from the media gallery of the Vidhan Sabha.

No copy of governor’s address

MPs heard Governor Bandaru Dattatraya’s maiden speech with great attention. Members looked here and there, waiting for assembly staff to circulate copies of the address. But copies of the speech were not given to MPs, even though some frontline Treasury Bench leaders were seen in possession of what looked like a copy of the governor’s speech.

Congress remained silent and raised the issue politely only after the governor concluded his speech. Copies of the address were given to MPs after the House was reassembled. The media also received copies of the address after undue delay.

Best MP Award

Ganaur Segment BJP MP Nirmal Rani and Congress MP Pandit Neeraj Sharma (NIT Faridabad) were awarded Best MP for the Year 2021 by Haryana Vidhan Sabha President Gian Chand Gupta during of the opening session of the budget session on Wednesday.

The price included Check for 1 lakh, a shawl, a shield and a citation. House Leader and Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, Opposition Leader Bhupinder Singh Hooda, Vice President Ranbir Gangwa and Haryana Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kanwar Pal presented the award to House MPs .

House remembers Lata Mangeshkar

The Haryana assembly paid tribute to Bharat Ratna Lata Mangeshkar who died in February, freedom fighters and 17 members of the army killed in action in recent months.

The House recalled the eminent persons who expired between the period from the end of the previous session to the beginning of the current session.

Among the soldiers honored were Capt Sahil Vats (Rohtak), Subedar Major Shamsher Singh Chauhan (Ratan Thal, Rewari), Subedar Ramesh Chander (Jani, Karnal), Chief Petty Officer Krishan Kumar (Sutana, Panipat), havildar Rampal (Bahu Akbarpur, Rohtak), havildar Asbir Singh (Sudkain Kalan, Jind), havildar Rampal (Chitlang, Mahendragarh), havildar Naresh Kumar (Satnali, Mahendragarh), havildar Praveen Kumar (Dudiwala Kishanpura, Charkhi Dadri), naik Vijaypal ( Nilaheri, Jhajjar), naik Sandeep Dangi (Garhi, Hisar), lance naik Sachin Dagar (Alipur, Gurugram), lance naik Preet Singh (Jaitpur, Jhajjar), gunner Naveen Vashisht (Rohtak), sepoy Sombir Kadian (Siwana, Jhajjar), sepoy Ravinder Kumar (Karoli, Rewari) and sepoy Sahil Chauhan (Maya, Rewari).

Comments are closed.